Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You raise an interesting issue. Let me complicate it.
A1 releases a try from behind the 3pt arc. The period ending horn sounds. A2, who is inside the arc, legally touches the ball on the way up. The ball goes in. Do you score the points?
The only reason you wouldn't is if you believe that the try ended before entering the basket.
|
No, I wouldn't score the points because A2's try started after the horn sounded. A2's "touch" after the horn sounded ended A1's try at the same time. Again, can you come up with a plausible reason for A2 touching the ball other than with the intent of re-directing it at the basket?
It's fine to come up with a twp and have a rules discussion on it, but please try and come up with one that makes a little more sense than this one. Maybe one that explains a situation when A2 might actually touch the ball with his hand(s) on a shot by A1
without A2 having the intent of re-directing it at the basket. I certainly can't think of a logical one.