Quote:
Originally posted by heyref32
My question is in game 3 of the Portland/LA series when Horry made the 3-pointer from the corner in front of the Blazers bench to win the game, Stoudamire jumped out at him to distract him, what if Horry had missed the shot and Stoudamire had made contact with him, whether it be slight or not which caused the missed shot.
|
heyref,
Here's the play you're talking about. It's on page 57 of the NBA Questions & Answers (casebook). It's play number 284:
Quote:
Player A1 attempts a three-point field goal directly in front of Team B's bench. A coach/player/trainer of Team B, who is seated on the bench, makes physical contact with Player A1. The official rules that the contact was:
(1) accidental or
(2) intentional.
What is the ruling?
In (1) and (2), an unsportsmanlike conduct technical foul shall be called. If the field goal attempt is unsuccessful, three points shall be awarded Player A1. Following the free throw attempt, the ball shall be awarded to Team B on the baseline. The same rules would apply if someone seated on the bench throws any object that hits the player or is thrown at the ball during a field goal attempt.
Rule 12A - SECTION V-a
|
It's spelled out pretty well. Score the goal and give a free throw. Impressed I found it? LOL, I've been digging for 2 days to find it
I honestly am not sure how this would be handled in NCAA/Fed. I don't think that there's any rule or case play that even comes close to the situation we're talking about. I'll have to go dig through my Fed book now under Rule 10. My guess is that you can only call a technical foul. (Although it's contact during a live ball. But how could you call a personal foul on a substitute?) Tough question! Hope the NBA answer will tide you over for now
Chuck