View Single Post
  #90 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2007, 04:06pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
For me, the NOTE: on 10-3-7-C would be enough to back him up. In my opinion, A1 crossed the line when he was "nose-to-nose" with B1. He was not just "near him" as has been stated; he was literally in his face at all times, similar to how a drill instructor gets in the face of a new recruit. If he'd stuck his tongue out we would have had contact.

He was, IMO, trying to embarrass, ridicule, and demean, the opponent.

RevRef:

If what you are saying is that NFHS R10-S3-A7c trumps NFHS R4-S23 when it comes to playing defense and NFHS R4-S40 when it comes to setting screens, then I suggest that you reread the Sections 23 (guarding) and 40 (screening) of Rule 4. You will see that R10-S3-A7c has nothing to do with these sections. Let A1 play defense and set screens and use R4-S23 and R4-S40 be your guide. The situations that are covered by R10-S3-A7c are far and few between compared with players playing defense and setting screens.

I agree with Rut, your suggested use of R10-S3-A7c suggest to me that you are not a very experienced official in both rules knowledge and application of the rules. That is the observation that you will recieve from many of us bald old geezers that do have that experience and knowledge.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Go BROWNS!!
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote