View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2007, 07:49pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luv4Asian8
Two questions on the study guide that I posed to the assocation, but haven't heard from yet.

#69 - A2, immediately following the opening tip-off, takes the ball to team A's backcourt (thinking that was the frontcourt and scores in team B's basket. The horn sounds immediately after the goal and the officials stop play. The officials then realize that team A scored in the wrong basket.
Answer: "B" - Award two points to team B. After stoppage of play the officials should ensure the teams are facing the correct direction and award team A a throw-in along the endline. 5-2-1, 7-5-7

Issue: Rule 4-5-4, p28: "If by mistake the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction, when discovered all points scored...shall count as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction..." While yes, the ball when through team B's basket, 4-5-4 confused me with the other answer - two points to team A.
I don't care for this ruling, but here it is.

JUMPERS FACING WRONG DIRECTION
5.2.1 SITUATION E: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket. RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official's error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Luv4Asian8

#100 - After a successful basket by B, B1 knocks the ball away so that team A cannot immediately make the ensuing throw-in. The official calls a T-foul as B1 has been warned earlier in the game for the same behavior. Which of the following are true in regard to the T-foul? A. Team T-Foui or B. Personal T on B1.
Answer: "A" - The foul is a team technical charged to Team B. 10-3-6a, Summary p.72

Issue: Although I agree with a team Tech per delay warning rule, Rule 10-3-6a is listed under "player" tech. Additionally, the foul is read exactly the same under 10-1-5b under "team" tech. Could the answer to this question be either/both A or B? This may have an implication as to whether B1 already has a personal technical foul and is disqualified, whereas if it were a team foul, B1 would still be eligible to play. (sorry about the "what-if")

Thoughts?

Thanks!
This is a Team technical foul because there is a specific rule that says so. As you have noted that rule is 10-1-5b. The other rule 10-3-6a is to cover other situations in which a player delays the game in some manner, but which is not covered by a specific rule. For example, if a player knocks the ball out of the officials hands when the official is about to administer a throw-in to the opponent. That is the purpose of 10-3-6a.

PS Instead of saying "personal T" please write "player T." By NFHS terminology a foul is either personal or technical, but never both.
Reply With Quote