Whether this game is played under NFHS or NCAA rules determines how this situation is handled.
RockyRoad is correct in stating that the contact by B1 is NOT a technical foul. What he should have included is that the contact by B1 is a personal foul (by rule this foul is either an intentional foul or a flagrant foul, a judgement decision by the administering official); this is the same under both NFHS and NCAA rules.
Under both NFHS and NCAA rules you have a false double foul situation:
NFHS: Technical foul by Team B (see below) followed by a personal (see official's judgement above) foul by B1 followed by a technical foul by Team A.
NCAA: Personal foul by B1 followed by a technical foul by Team A.
NFHS: The penalties for the foul are administered in the order that the fouls were committed. Team B had been issued a team warning the first time B1 reached thru the boundary-line plane (R4-S46-A1 and R9-S2-A11); therefore when B1 made contact with A1, two fouls were committed at the same time (in this case a false multiple foul; see R4-S19-A11): 1) a technical foul by Team B per R4-S46-A1 and R10-S1-A10; and a personal foul by B1. The false multiple foul by Team B was then followed by a technical foul by Team A.
The penalties for the fouls are administered in the order that the fouls were committed. 1) Any player(s) from Team A will shoot a total of two free throws for the technical foul by Team B. 2) A1 shots two free throws for the penalty for B1 personal foul. 3) Any player(s) from Team B will shoot a total of two free throws for the technical foul by Team A; Team B then has possession (not control) of the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the Scorer's/Timer's Table.
One final note: All of three fouls will count toward the team foul totals of each team. A2 is not guilty of any foul, and B1 is guilty of only a personal foul.
NCAA: Under NCAA rules there are no official warings given to a player for reaching thru the boundary-line plane during a throw-in; it is just a throw-in violation. The penalties for the fouls are not administered in the order that the fouls were committed. 1) Any player(s) from Team B will shoot a total of two free throws for the technical foul by Team A. 2) A1 shots two free throws for the penalty for B1 personal foul; then Team A gets possession of the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the personal foul by B1. The technical foul by Team A does not count toward Team A's team foul totals; A2 is not guilty of any foul. B1 is guilty of only a personal foul and this foul does count toward Team B's team foul totals.
It should be noted that nder both NFHS/NCAA rules Team A is guilty of a technical foul adding A2's name to the book, only if this is the first addition/correction to the scorebook after the game has started.
"Dont' you love it when a plan comes together."
Hanibal Smith (I think that was the character's last name.)
Commanding Officer the A Team
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|