Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did you read the part of the COMMENT in 9.2.10 that said "....interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if it's only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning has been issued." That applies to the whole game.
The RULING of 9.2.10 also says "B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach."
|
But if in the second quarter B catches the ball as it comes through the net and flips it off to the side wouldn't that be considered "interfering with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in"? You wouldn't give a T there would you (assuming no prior warning)? That is what made me believe that this applied to only a last second tactic (besides the title of the casebook pla)...the idea being that you don't issue a warning in that case, b/c it benefits B by letting them stop the clock without penalty and set up their defense, etc....not saying you guys are wrong, but I think it could be spelled out a little more clearly...