View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 04, 2007, 07:05pm
LMSANS LMSANS is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Jersey SHore
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to LMSANS
I didn't see it coach...

This is my first year officiating football.

I was the HL in a Pop Warner Jr Pee Wee game (Fed rules) last night. 3-man mechanics This is what happened:

A 1-10 @ A30. A10 runs towards my side, he is tripped up at A30 and lands on A32. I mark the spot and the U is waiting at the hash for the ball, when we look and B33 has the ball at A28. Neither of us saw how or when the ball changed hands. R came over from the other wing and wanted to give the ball to B. U and I said since we didn't see the ball come lose, it stays A ball. We "won" the argument, but after the game R insisted we should have given the ball to B.

The official running the clock in the press box later told us, he saw B take the ball after A was down, so we made the right call.

Any opinions?
__________________

Larry Sansevere
SUA, NJFOA & NJWOA
Reply With Quote