View Single Post
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 03:29pm
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus
Day late and a dollar short to this discussion, and don't know if this helps or not since this case doesn't specify that the inbounds pass remains OOB, but here's the wording from the NFHS website:

SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)

Hope that helps.
And now this has me re-thinking the entire thread - how can A1 be standing OOB when he/she received the ball and not have already violated?

Argh.
Reply With Quote