View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 02:29pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is online now
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
But, here's another test/study guide question:

While A1's pass is in the air to A2, B1 deflects the pass. Official inadvertently sounds the whistle and grants a time out requested by team A's coach. Official rules the time-ou cannot be denied or revoked and after the time-out has expired, uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play.
Ruling: Correct procedure

According to what is written above, this is not the correct procedure. Team A still has team control, so we must give the ball back to team A, even if a B player was inches away from gaining possession? Doesn't seem remotely fair to me. Or is this one of those "in control" does not mean "team control" things that we have argued about before?
You are correct that the study guide is incorrect.

Give the ball back to A.
Reply With Quote