View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2007, 10:27pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
A1 receives a pass standing still with both feet on the floor. He places the ball on the floor and releases it simultaneously with both hands.

He then picks the ball up and starts a dribble. Ruling: Legal play.
The best case that can be made that this action is NOT a dribble is by citing the final sentence of 4.44.5 Sit B.

"It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball."

Yet even that is not clear because we do not know if the NFHS is telling us that the setting of the ball on the floor does not constitute a dribble and thus this is traveling or if the NFHS is saying that the player is attempting to circumvent the traveling rule and therefore must be penalized anyway. I happen to believe the latter explanation.
Reply With Quote