View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2007, 01:42pm
Splute Splute is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
A1 receives a pass standing still with both feet on the floor. He places the ball on the floor and releases it simultaneously with both hands. (WHY???)

He then picks the ball up and starts a dribble. Ruling: Legal play.

uh.....true?........maybe......weird.....definitel y
I agree - legal, but I have to break it down. See if this logic works:
Caught a pass; (no pivot foot yet, thinking in my head).
Touches ball to the floor - legal
releases ball while touching floor; both hands simultaneously... okay, does not meet the definition of starting a dribble. (i agree WHY??? tied his shoe?)
Picks up the ball and starts a dribble- if there has been no dribble; seems legal
Reply With Quote