Interesting discussion.
The reason I bring it up is a situation I ran into at a rec league game last week. Post players were getting really physical as the game was progressing (locking arms, using elbows, etc)* and at one point, two opponents got particularly physical. Before I could put air in my whistle, the larger of the two opponents hooked his elbow around the neck of his opponent and "threw" him to the ground quite forcefully.
I'm pretty new, so it took me a little bit to review in my head exactly what had happened and what I should do. In the few seconds that my brain was processing, my partner had gotten between the two players to make sure a fight didn't ensue and then proceeded to come over to me to find out what I had.
I told him that, to me, the contact seemed severe enough to warrant a flagrant foul. But when I went over to the table, I reported it as a flagrant technical foul. D'oh! My partner didn't catch it and it went through as a T...I didn't realize my mistake until later as I was reviewing the rule.
Looking back, I think perhaps I double-blew the call. Yes, the contact was excessive, but I don't think it warranted a flagrant, I think an personal intentional foul would have been sufficient. Either way, I blew the call and realized as I reported to the table that I had no idea what mechanic other than a "T" to indicate that I had a flagrant technical. Thus the thread.
*Upon further self-examination (and a thorough argument as the T'd up player left the confines) I realize now that, essentially, the escalation that led up to the incident was my fault. I allowed the post play to get more and more physical as the game went on. Gonna work on that this week.)
|