how is that interference? the fielder is not fielding a live batted ball ... doesnt sound like int --- maybe nothing, especially on a walk when R1 gets 2B w/o liability of being put out. now maybe if the ruling the contact was malicious.
ASA does not recognize malicious contact. But in any case, 8-7-J, the runner is out when the runner interferes with the fielder attempting to throw the ball. I interpret this as avoidable interference with a fielder legitimately trying to make a play. With no runner on 3B, if the ball got away and the runner from 1B ran into F4 going to pick up the ball, there's no play possible, so INT is not an issue. And even if there was a runner on 3B, and that runner was simply standing on the bag, I would call time and not INT.
But for argument's sake, let's assume the extreme example—that the runner from 1B grabs F4's arm to prevent a play on the runner from 3B going home. The runner is declared out even though she could not be put out.
It in interesting that OBR draws a significant distinction between declared versus put out. If I am not mistaken, declared out is always a time play. So in the case of bases loaded, 2 out, ball 4 on the batter, who sprints down to 1B, makes a turn, and passes the runner on 1B, the BR's being declared out negates the run from 3B if the out came before the runner crossed the plate. But if the BR rounded 1B and was simply tagged out, it would be 3 outs, but the runner from 3B would be allowed to score "on the theory that the run was forced home by the base on balls and that all the runners needed to do was proceed and touch the next base."
From 8-7-T, the LBR: The "Look Back" rule will be in effect for all runners when the ball is live, the BR has touched 1B or has been declared out [!], and the pitcher has possession and control of the ball within the pitcher's circle.
I see nothing under the LBR or in the RS that says a runner who is advancing without liability to be put out cannot violate the LBR. I'm not claiming that such a runner can violate the LBR, but I have to admit that I'm not sure now.
Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, 1 out. Charles takes ball 4 and advances to 1B. With the ball in the circle, Baker walks almost to 2B and then turns around and walks back to 1B, and let's assume dances around, changing direction several times while Abel stands on 3B and Baker stands on 1B. Now what?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|