Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland
Correct. Since the change in possession was not by a legal kick, the clock starts on the ready for play.
Had the change involved a legal kick it starts on the snap. Reason being, previous to the current rule the change in possession following a legal kick, it was felt referees where inconsistent in blowing the ready for play while squads changed. Since squads do not change on this situation there was no need to delay the ready until the snap.
|
Seems that argument from consistency would've been used to justify not stopping the clock at all, rather than stopping until RFP.