Thread: Clock status
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 09:48am
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51
NFHS B intercepts A's pass and runs to the A 5 yard line before fumbling the ball. Recovery is by A at the one.
I started the clock on the ready. Right or wrong?

TIA
Correct. Since the change in possession was not by a legal kick, the clock starts on the ready for play.

Had the change involved a legal kick it starts on the snap. Reason being, previous to the current rule the change in possession following a legal kick, it was felt referees where inconsistent in blowing the ready for play while squads changed. Since squads do not change on this situation there was no need to delay the ready until the snap.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote