View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 20, 2007, 06:50pm
TXMike TXMike is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
That is the crux of the discussion among officials on this play....what constitutes being blocked into the ball. One school says the intent of the rule is to cover situations where a player is blocked into a ball on the ground. Others, myself included, believe we should be able to judge whether or not the player would have likely touched the ball had he not been blocked. Furthermore, if he is ILLEGALLY blocked then he should probably most always be judged to have been blocked into the ball.
Reply With Quote