View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 06:31am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
Irish - SUB1 is an unreported substitute. SUBSTITUTE! Under U-trip (which basically copies NFHS rules) SUB1 is legally in the game when the umpire says "play," or allows F1 to pitch.

If SUB1 is legally in the game, then #8 is out of the game, with re-entry rights.

When #8 re-enters the game, instead of going to the base and sending SUB1 back to the dugout, she instead bats for #9. That makes her an illegal sub and, when discovered, if still at bat or on base she is called out. And, even if in the dugout, she is done for the game.

And so it cascades on down. The only question in my mind is if the umpire is working this out retroactively, should he stop when #1 is the 3rd out. If so, then #2 is not an illegal sub because the offensive side is over. So #2 could re-enter for #1 and be up first the next inning.

Doesn't matter, though because the team lost 3 players and have only 7 left. Game over.

WMB
And if you read my first post you will see that I qualified my statement based on rules being comparable to ASA.

Nonetheless, IMPO, any rule which supports such a "cascading" effect that compromises the actions of others not related to the original error, is ludicrous. As previously stated, no player did anything wrong besides Sub 1 and #8.
Reply With Quote