Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
I had almost the same play yesterday between two 18-gold teams. I was the BU behind F4, F6 fields the ball, takes 3 or 4 steps towards 2B, touches the 3B side of 2B bag, and R1 slides to the inside of the bag, taking F6 out completely. I look over at BR2, who was about 2 steps away from 1B. There was no question in my mind this was obviously intended to break up the double play - dead ball, 2 outs.
|
Speaking ASA
Hang on, Sean. Like you said, you knew it when you saw it and neither I or anyone else can argue about your call. You didn't mention it, so I would have to assume F6 was in a position to throw to 1B or you wouldn't have a play.
However, I just want to make sure we are clear here. There is no rule forbidding a player from attempting to break up a double play. The rule forbids interference. That means you must have INT before you can rule another runner out. A good, clean slide to the base regardless of the side is an accepted play in this game as long as there is no act of INT.
If you get to "well, my fielder couldn't do this or that because...", we'll be expected to rule INT on damn near any play.
In your play, let's assume it wasn't obvious this may have been a take out slide. The coach could claim that the runner slid to the inside to avoid F6 who should have been coming across the base to relay the throw to 1B. When I was playing, if the SS was making the throw to 1B, I'm sliding to the outfield side of 2B. I would be a good, clean hook slide with my arms guarding my face (we wore metal spikes).
Not questioning your call, just raising an issue which I believe should be considered.