NAFOA POTD for Oct 12, 2007
Here's today's Play of the Day:
B1 intercepts A1's pass in the end zone where B1 is grabbed by the face mask, then fumbles while in the end zone and (a) the ball rolls back into the field of pay and then goes out of bounds at B's 2-yard line; (b) the ball rolls back into the field of play where B7 recovers the ball at B's 5-yard line.
Fed Ruling:
In both (a) and (b), the basic spot is the end of the run where the fumble occurred, therefore, the 20-yard line.(10.4.6)Casebook.
Canadian Ruling:
In (a), B's interception in the EZ brings the ball out to the 20. Tack on 15 yards for the facemask, and it is B 1D/10 @ B-35.
In (b), B7's recovery at the B-5 is a point of application for the facemask. This would bring the ball to the 20 (5 + 15). But, the 20 yard line is still a point of application, and therefore B 1D/10 @ B-35 is the better option.
__________________
Pope Francis
|