Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by breynolds
					
				 Kirby got it. It was the awarding of the new series that was confusing me. For some reason, I wanted to enforce both DB fouls before determining whether or not it results in a first down.
 But, 5-1-2a says, "After a first, second, or third down, a new series of downs shall be awarded only after considering the effect of any act during the down other than non-player or unsportsmanlike conduct fouls by A, and any dead-ball foul by B.
 
 It does not mention anything about DB fouls by A or DB fouls by both teams. I can't find any case book situation on it either, so I agree...
 
 1st and 10 for A from A40.
 | 
	
 Wait a minute...you take the rule book's 
silence re fouls in the dead ball interval by A to mean the new series is awarded 
after A's foul?  What about the mention of one working to the exclusion of others?
I read what you quoted just the opposite.  The dead ball foul by B occurs 1st, resulting in a new series, then the foul by A, resulting in 1st & 25 for A at A's 40.
Robert