View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2007, 07:36am
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Here are two new 2007 ARs that seem to support the incomplete pass call.

7-3-6 XI: Airborne receiver A85 possesses the ball and in the process of going
to the ground, first contacts the ground with his left foot as he falls to
the ground inbounds. Immediately upon hitting the ground, the ball
comes loose and touches the ground. RULING: Incomplete pass.
An airborne receiver must maintain control of the ball if going to the
ground in the process of completing a catch.


7-3-6 XIII: Airborne receiver A85 possesses the ball and in the process of
coming to the ground, first contacts the ground with his left foot
inbounds as he falls to the ground out of bounds. Immediately upon
hitting the ground out of bounds, the ball comes loose. RULING:
Incomplete pass regardless of whether or not the ball hits the ground
because the receiver is out of bounds.


My big question is this: In the AR's they have the receiver contacting the ground with his left foot before "going to the ground." What if he contacts with his left foot, followed by his right foot, followed by his left foot again, ... (you can see where I'm going with this). Exactly how many steps does it take for the official to rule the pass completed if he's eventually dragged down and the ball comes loose? And does it matter whether this occurs in teh field of play or the opponent's end zone?
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote