View Single Post
  #115 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2007, 07:06am
TxUmp TxUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wharton, TX
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
You must have misunderstood Carl.

There is a safe call at first that can be reversed: Runner beats the throw but misses the bag. The umpire makes the safe call. But if F3 appeals before the runner gets back to the bag, the umpire then makes the out call. Carl knows that.
...
No I didn't misunderstand Carl. The immediate safe call at first and at home both are made AFTER the runner touches the base. He can not be called out on that play regardless of the fielder's actions. Unless there is subsequent action - like the runner making an attempt (or a feint) to advance to second base. Of course if he misses the base, he is liable to be put out on appeal.
__________________
Herb McCown