View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2007, 10:35am
bigjohn bigjohn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
unless the QB only does this in certain situations that appear he is trying to draw the defense into the neutral zone, it is not something that should be called. If he only does it on 4th and less than 5 and is simulating a snap then it should be considered a false start.


as in this situation on the NFHS website interpretations

SITUATION 4: Fourth and four on A's 35-yard line. K comes to the line in a scrimmage formation. After calling a few signals, A1 says "shift." All 11 players then make a movement. Some players move to a new position for a scrimmage-kick formation, while four interior linemen remain in place and move from a hands-on-thighs position to an upright position and finally to a three-point stance. RULING: This could be ruled a false start if the covering official(s) determine that it was designed to cause B to encroach. In judging the offensive team's intent, the officials should consider whether players move to a new position, the speed and abruptness of movement, down and distance and if any player pretends to have the ball or otherwise simulate action at the snap with the start of a play. (7-1-7; 7-2-6)
Reply With Quote