Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
I don't like the phrase the "dribble has ended". It has always been a bit confusing to me. I always have it in my mind when I hear that phrase that they can't dribble again. But most of the time we use the phrase it means they can. Why? If I stop dribbling the ball the dribble has ended, but I can't dribble again. However, when the defense hits the ball, the "dribble has ended" and the player can dribble again.
Confused in GA.
|
The phrase "the dribble has ended" tells you definitively that that dribble is over and whatever happens after that needs to be judged with that in mind. This is as opposed to saying that the ball came loose and an interrupted dribble is happening.
If you look at it that way, perhaps that will help eliminate some of your confusion. An official does need to know whether the action is an interrupted dribble or not and this phrase provides that information.
As you have said, it conveys no information about whether or not a player may dribble again.