View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 12:11pm
Splute Splute is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
I don't like the phrase the "dribble has ended". It has always been a bit confusing to me. I always have it in my mind when I hear that phrase that they can't dribble again. But most of the time we use the phrase it means they can. Why? If I stop dribbling the ball the dribble has ended, but I can't dribble again. However, when the defense hits the ball, the "dribble has ended" and the player can dribble again.

Confused in GA.
The rule defines when a dribble ends, period. Actions after that involve other rules such as traveling, player control (loss there of), double dribble, start of a NEW dribble, etc. In my mind they are independent of each other. Perhaps in your mind you are still relating subsequent actions (after batted ball) to the previous dribble when the current action is a loose ball or fumble.

Rule 4-15-4
Art. 4... The dribble ends when:
a.The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.
b.The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.
c.The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d.An opponent bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) the ball.
e.The ball becomes dead.
NOTE: 1 It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.
NOTE: 2 A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions.
NOTE: 3 It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once.
Reply With Quote