View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 02, 2007, 09:18am
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmielke
Question is R1 alway called out, or just returned to third and possibly called out based on the umpires judgment on whether the defense had a play on her.
Rules & Cases Directory
Softball Rules Book 2007
Rule 8: Batter-Runner and Runner
Section 6: The Runner Is Out
Article 18


Art. 18... After being declared out or after scoring, a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner. A runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference. This does not apply to the batter-runner running on the dropped third strike rule.
PENTALTY: (Arts. 16, 17, 18) The ball is dead and the runner closest to home plate at the time of the interference shall be declared out. Each other runner must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.


I think the keys are 'INTENTIONALLY' and 'OPPORTUNITY TO MAKE A PLAY'. Probably a HTBT.

But, to answer your question, no R1 is not always called out. Some thinking, common sense, and umpire judgement are going to have to come into play.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote