Thread: Punt it Twice
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 30, 2007, 08:00am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfdesigner
Just trying to think this one thru, and we talked about it yesterday, because it could have happened...
Frosh B game so you know just about anything can and sometimes does happen...
A lines up in scrimmage kick formation, punt is partially blocked and on the fly is caught by the punter. He sweeps left attempting to reach line to gain. He doesn't make it so ball goes over to B on downs. Just thinking, could the punter have legally kicked it a second time?
Just so we're prepared for the next time this comes up.
CANADIAN RULING:

Yes; this is called an open field kick. The punter is not afforded any protection for the second punt in the case you describe. Yards must be given by offside players, and onside players and the punter can legally recover. Yards must also be gained to retain possession.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote