Thread: one or two?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 29, 2007, 12:19am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
It depends on what the player does when he/she saves it. If it is a "controlled" save then no the player can not be the first to touch, but if it is just "bat" or "tap" of the ball back into the court then the player can return and be the first to touch with only ONE foot being on the playing court, but the other foot must be off the out of bounds area.
I don't think that we've been given enough info to definitively say that the player can't legally be the first to touch the ball back in-bounds on the controlled save. That would depend on what happened with the ball before it went OOB, and we haven't been given that information. For instance, if the player saved the ball back in-bounds after blocking a pass or retrieving an errant pass from another player, it would be legal for him to be the first to touch it--whether it was a controlled or uncontrolled save.

Johnny, we need to know the circumstances-- re: how the ball went OOB --before your question can be answered properly.
Reply With Quote