Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, and what about foul situations? Why exactly is there a switch on one case and not others? If the lead calls a TO after making a foul call entailing FT's, why do the officials switch instead of following your proposed mechanic?
You'll find "timeouts" on page 44 in the Officials Manual. Note that "timeouts" is in a completely different section than anything that you have cited above. Note that nowhere under "timeouts" can you find any definitive mechanic listed similar to what you are claiming. Soooooo, cite me something definitive re: timeouts.
I don't have to prove anything. I'm not the one that is making any claims that my mechanic is right and someone else's mechanic is wrong. That would be you. And I hate to say it, but you still not have definitively proven anything about timeout mechanics. As I said, you may be right. You may be wrong.
Please let me know when you find something definitive re: timeouts. Right now, we're going in circles.
Btw, let the record show that personally I could really care less if 2 different officials handle this particular situation differently. It definitely ain't a biggie in the wondrous world of officiating.
|
Agreed about the importance.
Why is there a switch on fouls? Because the mechancs explicty say to switch on fouls.
What I've shown you is the definitive mechanics on who administers in the general case. I've shown a definitive statement that says the ONLY time a switch should occur is on a foul and on one specific throwin case. To suggest a switch can also occur with a timeout depeding on who calls the timeout is in direct contradiction to that very statement. Unless you can show a specific exception that says the cited mechancs don't apply, you have no basis to suggest anything is correct (or even might be correct) other than what I've posted.
The section on timeouts doesn't change who administers the throwin. That is covered clearly in the sections I cited. The timeout section refereces who administers with regards to where each official should stand but doesn't define or change who will be administering the throwin...so you use the part where it is defined.