View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 11:02am
SteelFan SteelFan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Question Illegal runner? - Michigan Youth

A team at the 10/11 yr old level ran a play last week where the right guard took a hand off from the qb. A flag was tossed, but was picked up after the call was overturned by the head ref.

My understanding is the lineman must turn 180 degrees, and be off the line in order to be an eligible ball carrier. In this case, he did neither. The lineman simply turned left (90 degrees) and ran off tackle for a score.

What's the right call? Can you direct me, or post the specific rule, which addresses this?

thanks.
Reply With Quote