Sure. Here is an example that happened just the other night. R1 on second, ball hit to F6 for what would appear to be an easy put out at first. However, F3 pulls her foot, and the field umpire rules the BR out for the third out of the inning. However, R1 continues all the way from second to home. OC asks for appeal that F3 had pulled her foot. PU informs BU that F3 had indeed pulled her foot in order to make the catch. PU rules BR safe.
Now the decision has to be made what to do with R1. This is where 10:3:C comes into play. It is apparent that R1 would have made third, but likely not have made home in a routine play, one where the umpires had not put the defense at a disadvantage by making a late safe call. Therefore, the decision was made to put R1 on third, much to the chagrin of the OC.
And this is just one small example.
__________________
Scott
It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
|