Quote:
Originally Posted by raider
Keep in mind, the punter is not a punter until he actually punts the ball. (see 2.32.8) Thus, until the kick actually happens, no special protection is given. Since the contact happened with the kick, not after, I would strongly suspect that the R player was already committed and had no opportunity to avoid, nor since the snap was muffed, was he totally sure there would even be a kick.
I would rule no foul.
-Dave
|
Normally I'd agree with you, but this doesn't jive with the explanation given by the R.
"The explanation that the R gives is that, because the ball hit the ground on the errant snap, there could be no roughing the kicker."