View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 16, 2007, 07:36pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,100
A Hit by Pitch First

This afternoon I umpired an 18U Fall Baseball DH using NFHS rules. And I had a very unusual day behind the plate in the first game.

There was a player for the home team that struck out swinging in his first time at bat. The unusual thing was that the pitch came up and in on him and hit him while he was swinging at the pitch. Now is the really unusual thing that happened: In the bottom of the seventh inning of the same game, the same player came to the play and struck out swinging while getting hit with the pitch. I told him that I would be writing about him tonight on Officiating.com.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote