Casebook Play 7.2-9
Bases loaded, B4 scheduled to bat, but B4 comes to bat instead and ground into a double play, resulting in R3 being forced at 2B and B5 out at 1B. The defense appeal B5 batting out of order.
RULING: All outs that occurred before the appeal stand. Any runner that advanced are returned to their original base. Because of the appeal, B4 is declared out for missing their turn at bat for the third out of the inning. B6 leads off the next inning. (7.2.D.2.b)
Think about it. It isn't possible for a player to make two outs in the same inning in which a team does not "bat around". B5 had his opportunity and was called out. It is the same as if the batter due up is on base or previously scored in that inning.
|