Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling
My previous points were that the fielder could be "blocking" the base, but it would not be an issue until ... well ... it became an issue.
|
Agreed. There is no rule preventing a defensive player from being anywhere she wants to be whenever she wants to be there. OK, she can't be in foul territory before the pitch. OK, unless she is the catcher. But you know what I mean.
Also, as my much earlier post indicates, I am skeptical that this was an illegal slide. If it was a legal slide, then the contact was also legal.