View Single Post
  #119 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2007, 12:08pm
David Emerling David Emerling is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
You're only arguing against yourself with this tidbit. What your attempting to do, is maintain that the pitcher must take his stretch before he comes to the set position.
But the portion of the rule he quotes says the pitcher may make a preliminary motion, known as the stretch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
In reality, all the pitcher has to do is step on the rubber, and without a stretch, throw to the plate.
Well, it's not quite that simple - but almost.

He must bring his hands together before delivering to the plate. That is a requirement for both the Set and Wind-up position. If pitching from the Set position, there is the additional requirement that the pitcher come to a complete stop once his hands come together.

When a pitcher holds the ball with both hands in front of his body, with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and his other foot free, he will be considered in the Windup Position.

Even if the pitcher has his hands separated (which is common) while assuming the wind-up position, he must, at some time before delivering the ball to the batter, bring his hands together - even if it's just part of his winding up motion.

If the pitcher toes the rubber as if to pitch from the wind-up position - has his hands separated - and then, from that position, just chucks the ball to his catcher - that would be illegal.

Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop.

If the pitcher toes the rubber as if to pitch from the set position - has his hands separated (which is required) - and then, from that position, just chucks the ball to his catcher - that would be illegal.

I'll tell you where this comes up; when a runner on 3rd makes an early break for the plate before the pitcher has begun his delivery.

If the pitcher toes the rubber as if to pitch from the wind-up and is taking the sign with his hands already together (which many pitchers do) - he can just chuck the ball home and this would be completely legal. It would also be considered a PITCH.

If this same pitcher has his hands separated while taking his sign (equally common) - he can just chuck the ball home as long as he brings his hands together in the process. But if he keeps them separated while throwing home - then it would be illegal because he failed to meet the minimum requirements of a wind-up delivery as stated in OBR 8.01.

A pitcher who toes the rubber as if to pitch from the set position must first bring his hands together and stop before throwing to the catcher - even if it's in reaction to a stealing runner from 3rd. Of course, the thing to do is step off. Then all bets are off. But some pitchers overreact to a stealing runner and a balk is very common - especially in youth leagues where the pitchers do not have the savvy to react calmly to this situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
All you have confirmed is that the pitcher is allowed a stop in his motion to the plate. As long as the pitcher doesn't quick pitch, he has broken no rule. You're trying to read more into this than necessary.
Well, there is a little more to assuming a legal set or wind-up position than simply not quick pitching the batter. That is not the only standard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
The only reason they have rules against being on the mound without the ball is because it is deceiving to the runners(s). Runner(s) are looking at the pitcher watching for what he may do, and then they are tagged out by an infielder. The rules are spelled out so the runner(s) can know what to expect from a pitcher. They know that when a pitcher climbs up the mound and straddles the rubber, he has possession of the ball.
Let's say the pitcher has possession of the ball. Places his pivot foot in close proximity to the rubber, but not on it. He peers in and gets his sign. He comes set ...

What's this?

It's a balk! And he never even touched the rubber.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote