Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Before assuming Set Position, the pitcher may elect to make any natural preliminary motion such as that known as “the stretch.” But if he so elects, he shall come to Set Position before delivering the ball to the batter.
Are you saying there are a great number of umpires who do not recognize the stretch as part of a pitchers motion to pitch? If the pitching regulations begin only when the pitcher is engaged on the rubber, the constraints found in article 5 are worthless. I'll argue till I'm blue in the face that the pitching regulations must begin before the pitcher toes the rubber. Otherwise, straddling the rubber without the ball could never be called a balk.
Tim.
|
You're only arguing against yourself with this tidbit. What your attempting to do, is maintain that the pitcher
must take his stretch before he comes to the set position. In reality, all the pitcher has to do is step on the rubber, and without a stretch, throw to the plate. All you have confirmed is that the pitcher is allowed a
stop in his motion to the plate. As long as the pitcher doesn't quick pitch, he has broken no rule. You're trying to read more into this than necessary.
The only reason they have rules against being on the mound without the ball is because it is deceiving to the runners(s). Runner(s) are looking at the pitcher watching for what he may do, and then they are tagged out by an infielder. The rules are spelled out so the runner(s) can know what to expect from a pitcher. They know that when a pitcher climbs up the mound and straddles the rubber, he has possession of the ball.
See how simple all this is.