Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Your personal belief is completely wrong under both NCAA and NFHS rules. If anyone is giving 2 steps in these situations, then they are calling block/charges incorrectly. There is no time/distance allowed when guarding a player with the ball, either dribbling or holding. The only criteria used to make the correct call is whether the defender has a legal guarding position at the time of contact, where on the defender the contact occurs, and whether the dribbler was able to get his head/shoulders past the defender before contact. Whether they gather the ball or not or how many steps the player with the ball takes before the contact occurs is completely irrelevant, rules-wise.
The criteria that you are using applies to guarding a player without the ball.
|
You're exactly right in terms of primary defenders, but I was under the assumption that we were all talking about secondary defenders and them coming in and undercutting the shooter?