Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Again, Mark, It's a judgment call as to whether or not the umpire feels that F1 leaning in to take his signs while not in contact is part of his preliminary motion to pitch. If we feel that it is, then Article 5 of FED rule 6 allows for a balk to be called. It's not the straddling of the rubber that's the problem. It's the pitcher leaning in simulating he's on the rubber that's at issue. Based on the situation your presented about your son, I would agree that there was nothing to support the umpire's decision to put a stop to it. But, had your son leaned in, I could see a balk being called.
Tim.
|
My bad, I quoted the wrong post. Read what I said in my earlier post and it applies here. Where does the words
preliminary motion appear in any rule? Poorly written rules and posts only add to the legacy of mistaken identity. When you give an uneducated guess and believe it to be true, you start others to believe. Then it becomes an epidemic. Soon, many are infected with the virus.
I know how the rule should be properly interpreted. You've pretty much butchered it all to heck, whether you believe it or not.