Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
Game management is to "ignore" the touching?
|
Yup, you can't use 2-3, because it's covered by the rules.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
Fine,if it is simply a dribbler's foot touching the foot of a sitting player. Now, what if the ball hits a bench player whose foot is "on the court" and rolls away, where a defender picks it up and goes in for a layup? Ignore that too? No. I think the authority to blow the whistle and return the ball to the offense is covered by 2-3.
|
This might just be a 2-3 event.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
Further, the "restraining line" rule requires a dotted line to be on the floor. It's not going to happen in this gym. And I am not going to refuse to ref. You can call this "ignoring" a rule. I prefer to say that I am using my authority under 2-3 to make decisions not covered by the rules.
|
While the rules for court markings require a restraining line in small gyms, they also make a specific allowance for the official to create an imaginary one in the absence of a dotted line. This is not a 2-3 situation.