View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 12, 2007, 07:29am
ozzy6900 ozzy6900 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Just to make sure, I want to review something we discussed a couple of years ago. This is OBR:

Bases loaded, 2 out. On a 3-2 count with the runners going, ball 4 gets away from F2. The runner from 2B rounds 3B, and F2 throws to put that runner out before the runner from 3B crosses the plate. Ruling (straight from the OBR book): Three outs, but the run from 3B is still permitted to score on the award.
The run scores because R3 was forced home. The third out was R2 after he touched 3rd (to which he was forced to by the BR awarded ball 4). The third out was not a force out or the BR not attaining 1st base.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
However:

Bases loaded, 2 out. Ball 4 gets away from the catcher. The runners are in no hurry, but the batter, thinking there's a chance for 2 bases, sprints to 1B and rounds the bag, passing the runner on 1B before the runner from 3B crosses the plate. Ruling: Three outs, no run, because the BR was "declared out" rather than "put out."

Is that correct?
Let's see here.... I say incorrect!

Bases loaded, 2 out. Batter walks, all runners have to move 1 base. BR touches 1st base then passes R1.

BR is out - 3 out, score the run on the force from the walk.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote