View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 11:33pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
I would've awarded 2B here on OBS...
Based on the video, I would have had the runner protected to 2B as well.

Quote:
as a baserunner, you're running to 2B to draw a throw to trade a run for an out. He would've reached 2B in my judgement, had the OBS not occurred.
Based on the "post obstruction evidence", the BR wouldn't have been "trading" anything and would have reached 2B safely even WITH the obstruction if he'd only kept going. If the obstruction had actually been called, maybe he would have (kept going).

Quote:
Then, I believe that since you have OBS and you're going to award 2B, then the INT on the 1B coach, the OBS supercedes the INT...I'm not sure, but this is a great video...thanks for posting and allowing me to chime in on this.
I've got to disagree with you on that one. Just because the offense is/may be awarded an advance base, they are still required to advance legally. IMO, the base coach's interference supercedes the obstruction. Agree that it's a good video.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote