Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Since a fair batted ball is in play and the play has yet to reach a conclusion or resolution, whatever the pitcher does cannot be considered a pitch. Since there is no prohibition on how the pitcher gets the ball to 1B, he is allowed to throw it to the catcher to relay it to 1B. I know it's a stretch, but there is nothing to prohibit such action.
I guess the question of who is dumber, the batter-runner or pitcher should be considered, but if protested, I would have to rule the BR out for interfering with the defense's ability to complete a play.
|
That is the best answer that I have heard... At least it has a logical reason for calling the batter out. You would be suprised how many umpires have been unable to come up with a logical answer (including me

). Thanks for your help.