Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: I'll definitely agree that interior linemen locked into a 3/4-point stance have more restrictions on them in that they can't lift out of that stance no matter how slowly or smoothly they do it, whereas an end or a back can do so. But when a player jumps because he obviously missed the snap count and that jump simulates the start of a play, he has committed a false start regardless of position. There is no ambiguity in the rules on that...at least not as I read them. Is there judgment involved? Of course there is, but not a whole lot for a player that flinches or jumps simply because he missed the count.
|
Sometimes they flinch because they were supposed to move and go into motion. This is why I personally like to give them the benefit of the doubt.
Peace