View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 08:53am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
Okay...if I may ask a question here to put a little different spin on things...let's say that R3 was going back to 3B and he was obstructed going back to 3B as F2 is making a play on him, but he makes it back to 3B and/or was thrown out going back to 3B...since a play was being made on him, does that make this Type 1 OBS and we'd award home to R3...also, during this the B/R has advanced to 2B...where do you place B/R and under what circumstances would you not allow B/R to stay at 2B?

Thanks guys.
Under OBR, if a play is being made on a runner, it's an immediate dead ball. That runner is awarded at least one base, but can be awarded more if the umpire judges he would have done so absent the obstruction (very rare, unless the ball is in the air at the time of the obstruction and is not caught by a fielder).

Other runners are awarded bases that they would have obtained absent the obstruction -- generally, if they are advancing at the time of the obstruction, they are awarded the advance base.
Reply With Quote