Thread: When is BR Out?
View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 30, 2007, 03:05pm
Dave Reed Dave Reed is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
.....
No different if a runner is retreating to a base he has been "forced from" (e.g. an R1 retreating to 1B after the F4 fields a grounder in "front" of him) or a runner is advancing to a base that is occupied by an entitled preceding runner.
......
The clarification of the "his baseline" language doesn't change that.
......
In the immortal words of Crash Davis, "Don't think too much. It can only hurt the team."
I think your example of R1 "forced from" is instructive, and it supports what you and GarthB have said: The change in the wording of the rule is a clarification, and is not intended to change the way the game has been played. Further to that point, I notice that the new wording is identical to that included in the 2004 edition of J/R. So the phrasing may be new to OBR, but it isn't new generally.

Finally, with respect to thinking "too much", I do appreciate that you gave my post careful (but not too much!) consideration. Thanks.
Reply With Quote