Thread: Inbounding
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2000, 02:48pm
walter walter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
Post

Duck, That situation is not a "T" because of the ability to run the baseline after a score. This ability to run the baseline is still in existence after the time out. On a designated spot throw-in, however, under Rule 9, Section 2, Article 12, "no teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated spot throw-in begins." The penalty comes under Rule 10, Section 3, Articel 4, "no player shall leave the court for an unauthorized reason or delay returning after legally being out of bounds." The penalty is a technical foul. Once the designated spot throw-in begins, i.e. the ball is at the disposal of the player of the team entitled to the throw-in, a warning cannot be given. If you don't catch the action prior to the throw in beginning, the penalty is a technical foul. The only time you may be able to warn is if, prior to putting the ball at the player's disposal, you see someone out of bounds. Then you tell him/her they need to be inbounds. However, if they don't listen then, put the ball at the disposal and then bang them. I whole-heartedly agree with the posts above, a rule is a rule! If you don't enforce this one, the defense gains an advantage.

Reply With Quote