Thread: FP question
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2002, 12:52am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by bluezebra
"8-2-6: Batter-runner is out when...the batter runner interferes with a dropped third strike."

Shouldn't it be 8-4 Runner is out? 8-2 isTouching, Occupying and Returning to a base.

Bob

TwoBits was quoting NFHS. In my 2001 book, you are correct, Bob. 8-2 is Touching, Occupying and Returning to a Base, and 8-4 is Runner is Out, and 8-4-1(a) deals with BR interference with a third strike, and it uses the wording of interfering with the catcher's attempt to field.

I don't have a NFHS 2002 book, but I understand NFHS completely rewrote Rule 8 so perhaps for 2002 8-2 is the right reference. Some of you guys must have the NFHS 2002 book handy, right?
Reply With Quote