Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Now, I did find case play 4.4.4(b) that addresses this very play. And it refers to 9-9-2.
|
Very nice, sir. Now that makes it clear how the NFHS wants this play called. Now all they have to do is amended 9-9-2 to match the casebook play, since the current 9-9-2 doesn't contain the word "
teammate."
9-9-2
... While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt.
4.4.4 SITUATION: The official is in Team A's frontcourt when he/she is contacted by a pass thrown by A1 from Team A's backcourt. After touching the official, the ball: (a) goes out of bounds; or (b) rebounds to the backcourt where it is recovered by A2. RULING: Touching the official is the same as touching the floor where the official is standing. In (a), the ball is awarded to B for a throw-in. In (b), the ball has been in the frontcourt and then has gone to the backcourt while in Team A's control. It is a violation for A1 to cause the ball to go from A's backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt untouched if A1 or a teammate is first to touch it after it has returned to backcourt. (9-9-2)
Now can you find anything for my other scenario which tests the words "in the backcourt" in 9-9-1?