Thread: FP question
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 20, 2002, 08:31am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I believe NFHS completely rewrote rule 8 for 2002 to make it more ASA-like.

Anyhow, ASA has the same wording as TwoBits quoted. (ASA 8-2-F).

THE BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT when the batter-runner ... interferes with a dropped third strike...

This case is not covered in either the ASA POEs or the ASA Case Book.

As unfortunate as this is for the batter-runner, the rule says she is out. Intent is not required.
Reply With Quote